John Toshack (Swansea City) tribute to Bill Shankly, Anfield 03.10.81. 



Pablo Forlan represented Uruguay 17 times. He won 7 league championships with 3 different clubs: Peñarol (1964, 1965, 1967, 1968), Nacional (1978) and Defensor (1980, 1982) With Peñarol he also won the 1966 Copa Libertadores and Intercontinental Cup.



In the 1973-74 season Héctor Yazalde scored 46 goals in just 29 games for Sporting Clube de Portugal (Sporting Lisbon).
3 of his 10 Argentina caps came at the 1974 World Cup, where he scored his only international goals, 2 versus Haiti.


In the names written in gold in the history of our sport there is a special place for Alfredo Di Stefano

The quote is from Michel Platini.
In the seasons 1955-56 to 1959-60 Alfredo Di Stefano won 5 European Cups with Real Madrid. He scored in each of the 5 finals (3 goals in 1960) and during the 5 campaigns scored a total of  36 goals. 


Felix Magath

Magath scored the winning goal of the 1983 European Cup final as Hamburg SV defeated Juventus.


George Best in Division 4...

When George Best was a young star with Manchester United he would often go to Edgeley Park to watch Stockport County (Friday Night is County Night! went the slogan).
Best probably didn't expect to ever appear for County. 
After much controversy he eventually left United in 1974. His career thereafter was a strange succession of brief affiliations with clubs as diverse as Los Angeles Aztecs and Nuneaton Borough. 
Stockport County were 16th in Division 4 when George Best joined them in November 1975. He played 3 games for County, during which they dropped one place in the league.

Best's debut came on 28.11.75- a Friday of course, 9,000 people present to see County beat visitors Swansea City (including current assistant manger Alan Curtis) 3-2. Best scored the opener. 
Only 4,755 saw Best's next game- a 2-2 draw at home to Watford. Best scored County's second goal. 
Boxing day saw County win 1-0 at home to Southport, 6,321 on hand to see Mick Hollis get the winner in Best's final appearance at Edgeley Park.


Ballon D'Or 1970-1989

1970- Gerd Müller   Bayern Munich & West Germany 

1971- Johan Cruyff Ajax & Netherlands 

1972- Franz Beckenbauer  Bayern Munich & West Germany 

1973- Johan Cruyff Barcelona & Netherlands 
1974- Johan Cruyff Barcelona & Netherlands 

1975- Oleg Blokhin Dynamo Kiev & USSR

1976- Franz Beckenbauer Bayern Munich & West Germany 

1977- Allan Simonsen Borussia Mönchengladbach & Denmark 

1978- Kevin Keegan Hamburg SV & England
1979- Kevin Keegan Hamburg SV & England

1980- Karl-Heinz Rummenigge  Bayern Munich & West Germany 
1981- Karl-Heinz Rummenigge  Bayern Munich & West Germany 

1982- Paolo Rossi Juventus & Italy

1983- Michel Platini Juventus & France 
1984- Michel Platini Juventus & France 
1985- Michel Platini Juventus & France 

1986- Igor Belanov Dynamo Kiev & USSR

1987Ruud Gullit Milan & Netherlands

1988-  Marco van Basten Milan & Netherlands 
1989- Marco van Basten Milan & Netherlands 



Italy's Annibale Frossi won an Olympic Gold medal in 1936 wearing glasses and JF Mitchell wore his specs in an FA Cup Final. In the modern era, however, the wearers of spectacles have been, it seems, confined to Netherlands and Belgium. 

Jef Jurion-in his 20 year career (1954-74) Mister Europe played for Anderlecht, Gent and Lokeren. He won 64 caps for Belgium. 

Rinus Israël-Israël played most of his career with Feyenoord and then PEC Zwolle. He represented the Netherlands 47 times (1964–1974). He was known as IJzeren Rinus.

In a career lasting from 1967- 81 Joop van Daele played in the main for  Feyenoord and Fortuna Sittard. He Famously got his glasses broken playing against Estudiantes in the Intercontinental Cup final. 

Edgar Davids has an impressive CV that includes several giants- Ajax, Milan, Internazionale,  Juventus, Barcelona, Tottenham Hotspur... He played 74 times for Netherlands.


Ballon d'Or- 1950s & 1960s

1956- Stanley Matthews Blackpool & England

1957- Alfredo di Stefano Real Madrid & Spain 

1958- Raymond Kopa Real Madrid & France 

1959- Alfredo di Stefano Real Madrid & Spain

1960- Luis Suarez Barcelona & Spain 

1961- Omar Sivori Juventus & Italy 

1962- Josef Masopust Dukla Prague & Czechoslovakia

1963- Lev Yashin Dinamo Moscow & USSR

1964-Denis Law Manchester United & Scotland 

1965- Eusebio Benfica & Portugal 

1966- Bobby Charlton Manchester United & England 

1967- Florian Albert Ferencvaros & Hungary

1968- George Best Manchester United & Northern Ireland 

1969- Gianni Rivera AC Milan & Italy


Dragan Džajić

During his career with FK Crvena Zvezda Džajić won 5 league Championships, 4 National Cups and the Mitropa Cup. He played more than 600 games for Crvena Zvezda, scoring 370 goals (playing wide on the left!) and represented Yugoslavia 85 times. 

The double- achieved 3 times.


Sir Bobby Robson

Bobby Robson of West Bromwich Albion and England.  Sir Bobby played 257 games for West Bromwich Albion and 370 for Fulham. He won 20 England caps.
Sir Bobby was treated appallingly by the English press during his tenure as England manager, during which they reached the quarter finals and semi finals of successive World Cups.


World Cup Finals...

08.07.90 Straight red 65 min
08.07.90 Second yellow 87 min
12.07.98 Second yellow 67 min
09.07.06 Straight red 110 min
11.07.10 Second yellow 109 min